Why We Charge Sales Tax

Why We Charge Sales Tax

We continue to be asked WHY we must charge some of our customers sales tax on our products. We do that because we are following the law.

In June 2018 the Supreme Court of the United States ruled in favor of the state in South Dakota vs. Wayfair. This decision overruled a longstanding physical presence rule allowing states to require remote sellers to collect and remit sales tax.  Since the Wayfair decision, most states have adopted new rules defining what establishes a sales and use tax obligation which is known as Nexus.   Click here to read in more detail.

This decision has impacted states, e-commerce sellers, digital service providers, customers and business owners alike. Reputable companies must now understand how their products and services are taxed in all of the states where they are sold and have had to implement a tracking system to ensure we are compliant where Nexus has been met. 

Unlike many of our competitors, we choose to follow the law as directed and therefore we must charge sales tax in these states where we sell our products.  Customers must recognize that should a vendor who has met Nexus in your state but has failed to charge you sales tax, the consumer is responsible for filing a Use Tax at the end of the year for that purchase.

Thank you for choosing to do business with us and recognize there is nothing we can do to change the law. Choosing Chris’ Coffee Service ensures you will receive the utmost in service on your equipment both before, during, and after the sale. Our hope is that the service we provide our customers will offset the amount of added expense you may need to spend on products from us as well as being in compliance should you ever be audited for sales tax purposes.

As of 2022 these are the states we're required by law to pay and collect sales tax in:

  • Arizona 
  • California 
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Ohion
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Massachusettes
  • Michigan
  • Minnesotta 
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • West Virgina
  • Virginia